Murano is a town in the Venetian Lagoon, located north-east of Venice and consists of seven islands; it is part of the municipality of Venice and in particular of the Venice-Murano-Burano municipality. With about 4,500 inhabitants, Murano is one of the most populated centers of the Venetian Lagoon.
The islands on which Murano stands are placed along the Marani canal and are divided by canals and rii and connected by bridges; their territory is totally urbanized, excluding Sacca San Mattia, still undergoing reclamation. Two islands are of artificial origin: Sacca Serenella and Sacca San Mattia.
The center is known throughout the world for the centuries-old craftsmanship that produces Murano glass.


Murano (Venezia)